Teaching

 

Each year you will complete a range of Core teaching sessions for the Core Module. This will start with your induction on Monday 8th February and continue at the end of your first week, on the 11th February with an Introduction to CBT.

 

You will be taught together with all the other trainees from the various strands in the Core teaching sessions and these days are clearly indicated on the timetable.  This year, we will be having two days of Core teaching on Thursday 24th and Friday 25th February. Then, a whole week from Monday 1st March to Thursday 4th March. There will then be a full day on Monday the 8th, a half-day session on Wednesday 10th March, and another half day on the 18th March on Routine Outcome Measures (ROMs). This will be followed by a half day on Monday 22nd March and a further two full days on the 23rd and 24th March. There will be two further days of Core training later in the year (tbc).

 

Core Teaching Days 2021

 

Term 1: Core

Week 1 – Monday 8th February and Thursday 11th February

 

Half-term - w/c Mon 15th February 2021

 

Week 2 – Thursday 24th February and Friday 25th February

Week 3 – Monday 1st March, Tuesday 2nd March, Wednesday 3rd March (AM) and Thursday 4th March

Week 4 – Monday 8th March and Wednesday 10th March (PM)

Week 5 – Thursday 18th March (AM)

Week 6 – Monday 22nd March (PM), Wednesday 24th March, Thursday 25th March

 

12 taught days = 66 hours (each taught day = 5.5 hours)

 

 

Parenting Teaching Days 2021

 

Term 1: Parenting

Week 1 – Tuesday 9th February and Wednesday 10th February

 

Half-term - w/c Mon 15th February 2021

 

Week 2 – Tuesday 23rd February

Week 4 – Tuesday 9th March and Thursday 10th March (AM)

Week 5 – Monday 15th March, Tuesday 16th March and Thursday 18th March (AM)

Week 6 – Tuesday 23rd March

 

Easter Break - w/c Mon 28th March 2021

 

8 taught days = 44 hours (each taught day = 5.5 hours)

 

 

Term 2: Parenting

Due to the ever changing nature of the situation related to Covid 19, these dates will be updated closer to the time. Teaching will be delivered across Monday – Thursday.

 

Week 1 – Monday 19th April, Tuesday 20th April, Wednesday 21st April

Week 2 – Monday 26th April, Tuesday 27th April

Week 3 – Monday 3rd May, Tuesday 2nd May

Week 4 – Monday 10th May, Tuesday 11th May

Week 5 – Monday 17th May, Tuesday 18th May

Week 6 – Monday 24th May, Tuesday 25th May

 

Half Term – w/c Mon 31st May 2021

 

Week 7 – Monday 7th June, Tuesday 8th June

Week 8 – Monday 14th June, Tuesday 15th June (AM)

Week 9 – Monday 21st June, Tuesday 22nd June

Week 10 – Monday 28th June, Tuesday 29th June

Week 11 – Monday 5th July, Tuesday 6th July

 

Summer Break – w/c Mon 12th July 2021

 

22.5 taught days = 123.75 hours (each day = 5.5 hours)

 

Term 3: Parenting

Due to the ever changing nature of the situation related to Covid 19, these dates will be updated closer to the time. Teaching will be delivered across Monday – Tuesday.

 

Week 1 – Monday 6th September, Tuesday 7th September

Week 2 – Monday 13th September, Tuesday 14th September

Week 3 – Monday 20th September, Tuesday 21st September

Week 4 – Monday 27th September, Tuesday 28th September

Week 5 – Monday 4th October

Week 6 – Monday 11th October, Tuesday 12th October

 

Half Term – w/c Mon 19th October 2021

 

Week 7 – Monday 1st November, Tuesday 2nd November

Week 8 – Monday 8th November

Week 9 – Monday 15th November, Tuesday 16th November

Week 10 – Monday 22nd November

Week 11 – Monday 29th November, Tuesday 30th November

Week 12 – Monday 6th December

Week 13 – Monday 13th December, Tuesday 14th December

 

22 taught days = 121 hours (each day = 5.5 hours)

 

Total for year PT taught hours = 288.75 hours

 

Grand total for Core and PT = 354.75 hours

 

Please note that the minimum taught hours required to satisfy BABCP accreditation regulations is 200 hours of face-face teaching.  Any absences which take the total hours attended below 200, MUST be accounted for by using the University’s “Missed Learning Activities” procedure detailed elsewhere in this handbook. There is also a requirement for 250 hours of self-directed study.

 

Please note also that the course is not formally completed until the successful submission of all examined work and the diploma is not awarded until the Academic Progress and Awards Committee (APAC) has met, normally in the Spring of the year following course completion.  At present the APAC is scheduled for late March 2022 (tbc).

 

Office Hours

The CYP-IAPT Programme team runs an open clinic between 4.30pm-5pm on a Tuesday. You can contact the team by email for any queries you may have.  Alternatively, approach the help-staff at Washington Singer Reception Desk and if they cannot assist you, they will consult with the dedicated course administration team.

 

Feedback

Students must complete electronic feedback via Accelerate. These are completed in 2-week blocks of teaching and you will receive emails with links to complete the feedback.  You will also need to evidence that you have completed feedback as part of your Clinical Portfolio assessment.

 

Feedback provides an opportunity for students to give their opinions and thoughts on teaching sessions and allows the CYP-IAPT team to implement new suggestions and changes for future cohorts.

 

We will communicate any changes in how feedback is to be gathered as soon as we hear about them

 

Location of Teaching

 

Teaching and University supervision are traditionally delivered face to face in the Washington Singer Building, or Reed Hall at the University of Exeter. We will endeavour to move teaching to face to face as soon as possible. However, in light of the current circumstances, sessions will need to be delivered online through Zoom and/or Microsoft Teams. You will be able to create an account to each of these platforms using your university log in details. Please check the ELE page regularly for the most up to date version of the timetable.

This method of delivery is subject to change throughout the year, so please do check your university email account regularly for updates regarding teaching.

 

The Structure and Timings of the days:

 

Teaching days usually start at 9.30am; when working online, the start time will be clearly stated in the online link to the teaching for that day. We recognise that working online for long periods of time can be tiring, so we try to incorporate regular breaks, alongside a lunch break. These will be discussed and agreed at the start of each session.

 

We are also aware that working from home brings with it many challenges, including juggling home educating children, caring responsibilities and challenges finding a quiet space to work. We will do our best to support you accessing the teaching, but please be prepared for the day as much as possible and talk to a member of the course team about any challenges you are facing.

 

 * Please refer to the Core handbook for Core Teaching timings, as these may differ

 

Study Time

 

Trainees are required by National Guidance to have a minimum of 28 days study time in addition to taught hours. We have timetabled in 6 days study time during half terms. It is recommended that the remaining 22 days are spread throughout the year, either as a half day each week or an arrangement that works best for the programme member and their employer.

 

Attendance and Leave

 

The course is a clinically- applied training and as a result, the aim is for 100% attendance. If any teaching is missed, you need to evidence with your course team how you have made up the learning and developed the competencies.

 

Falling below the required hours needed for BABCP accreditation will mean that you cannot be awarded your programme qualification. Your programme teams will monitor this closely with you throughout your training.

 

No annual leave is to be taken on your teaching days. Annual and study leave needs to be taken outside of these days. The only exceptions are where pre-booked leave was agreed at interview or if there are exceptional circumstances. For the latter, annual leave on taught days can only be taken if it is agreed with your Programme Lead prior to the date. A written request should be made to the Programme lead.

 

As you are all in paid employment, any leave from the University counts as annual leave or sick leave and as a result you need to make your service manager aware of any missed days as well as the University admin and programme teams. We will be in regular contact with your services throughout the course and will make them aware of any leave taken.

 

Missed Session Learning Activity

 

The PGDip/GradDip CYP-IAPT PTP (PT for CYP) requires a high level of attendance in order to meet both the university and the BABCP required standards for the award as noted in the handbook. However, we appreciate that unforeseen crises do arise that make it difficult to attend occasional sessions, we therefore have provision to complete Missed Session Learning Activity Record Form.  This does not apply to missed University supervision sessions.  Neither does it apply to multiple missed sessions where programme suspension is likely to be the appropriate course of action following discussion with your Academic Tutor.

 

Download: Missed Session Learning Activity Record (CYP-IAPT - All Strands)

 

The decision as to whether a Missed Session Learning Activity plan requires completion for any given absence will be made by the academic team in consultation with individual trainees.

 

Designing an appropriate missed session learning activity is the responsibility of the student but clear guidance is given here about how it should be done.  The activity is based on the learning objectives from the missed session which are usually available from the session handout on ELE or from the lecturer.  The learning outcomes must be recorded on the ‘Missed Session Learning Activity Record’ 

 

The missed session learning activity requires active and creative engagement with the material in order to address the learning deficit in your skill development following the missed session.  It is often useful to determine whether any other students have missed the session and complete the activity together, allowing peer discussion and deeper reflection on the material.  Students may also utilise small group work with peers, who may or may not have missed the session, and are willing to participate in an additional learning exercise to supplement their own knowledge and skill development.  This allows for the use of role play and enhances applied clinical skills as well as theoretical knowledge.  Learning activities are likely to include reflection on two or three relevant texts and / or recorded material linked to the learning outcomes. 

 

Your learning activity will take approximately the duration of time missed e.g. a six hour learning activity for a missed teaching day.  Self-directed study can be a part of the missed learning activity – although some more active engagement with fellow students is also required.

 

A required part of any plan, therefore, is evidence of active learning – discussion, role play or similar – with your peers or your clinical supervisor.

 

The missed session learning activity must be agreed with your Academic Tutor prior to completion of the activity.  Your Academic Tutor is required to sign the plan twice – once to confirm agreement with the proposal, and once to confirm completion of the activity.  If the initial signature is not sought, you may need to complete a further learning activity.