PGCert Psychological Therapies Practice (Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapies and Approaches)

Programme structure

The PG Cert programme is delivered over a series of blocks. For more detailed information please view our block timetable below. You will need to be able to commit to attending all of these at the University or other venues as detailed.  There is also an additional requirement to commit to personal study and practice. Students are expected to attend both a four/five-day retreat and a seven-day retreat at Gaia House, the cost of which is additional to the programme fee and will be set independently by Gaia House.

Timetable (provisional, may be subject to change)

Module PYCM063

Monday 24th September 2018

Tuesday 25th September 2018

Monday 15th October 2018

Tuesday 16th October 2018

Monday 12th November 2018

Tuesday 13th November 2018

 Monday 3rd December 2018

 Tuesday 4th December 2018

Thursday 31st January-Sunday 3rd February 2019

(Gaia House Retreat)

Module PYCM064
 Monday 18th February 2019
Tuesday 19th February 2019
Monday 11th March 2019
Tuesday 12th March 2019
Monday 8th April 2019
Tuesday 9th April 2019
Monday 13th May 2019
Tuesday 14th May 2019
Monday 10th June 2019
Tuesday 11th June 2019

Compulsory modules

60 credits of compulsory modules

CodeTitleCredits
PYCM063 Introduction to Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapies and Approaches 30
PYCM064 Applications of Mindfulness-based Teaching in Health and Mental Health Care and Beginning to Teach 30

This programme aims to update you with the latest research and theory in MBCT/MBA particularly drawing on the work within the Mood Disorders Centre at the University of Exeter. In this programme we aim to detail the knowledge underpinning MBCT/MBA from a psychological and Buddhist perspective.

We aim to provide you with the experiential knowledge of a personal mindfulness practice and how this is fundamental to teaching MBCT/MBA. Although this year does not give you the necessary skills to begin to teach MBCT/MBA there will be opportunities to begin to lead some practices in a supportive learning environment preparing you for the Diploma.